Back In the Western Hemisphere!!

Well, it’s official! I’m back in the western hemisphere and to be perfectly honest, I’m thrilled. Paris feels wondeful. I’m rejuventated for sure!

How could I not love coming “back home” after the wonderful flight I had from Doha, Qatar to Paris? Oh sure, the flight out of Bangkok had it’s usual “Thai” attributes – long lines at the airport for Qatar Airlines, lovely little Thai girls in cute uniforms waiting on customers as slowly as is humanly possible, and on the positive side, the traditional wai and huge Thai smile given by a young man as I passed through the last door before boarding the aircraft. Thailand is such a contradiction all the time! One minute I would just laugh and fall in love with the craziness and the next minute, I was exasperated with the foolishness of their ways!

Arriving in Doha, Qatar, I was astounded by the scenery. The water in the Persian Gulf as you get close to Qatar is an amazing in color…so blue. And compared to the light brown earth/sand of Qatar, it really looks beautiful. I have never seen so much sand in my entire life! Doha is a city in the middle of, well, sand. That’s it! There may have been a tree somewhere out there, but I never saw one! It was just sand. The Doha Airport was lovely and say those words loaded with sarcasism! There was nothing to it! The plane didn’t even use a jetway! We landed, walked down the steps and boarded a bus to the terminal, made our way through the passport control area, and then promptly moved on to the gate to board the next flight!

At this point, things really started looking up for me. As I handed the agent at Qatar Airways my boarding pass for the flight, she told me my ticket was upgraded to Business Class. SCORE!! Business Class is the way to go on long flights, that’s for sure. I just can’t afford it!! For the next six hours, I enjoyed a nap, great food, and wonderful service.

Sweet! Business Class!

Even coming into the rain in Paris, I felt something like a sense of relief. It felt like “home”. Things seemed normal to me. When I was in SE Asia, I didn’t realize how much I felt out of synch with things. Don’t get me wrong – I had a wonderful time there. But I’m just as pleased to be back into the western hemisphere!

Just a little note here….wifi access from here on in will be a little sketchy. Tomorrow I take a train to Geneva to pick up my stuff for the Camino. I’ll be back in Paris for a day after that – which I intend to use fully seeing more of this beautiful city. After that, I head to Bayonne, France for one night and then on to St. Jean Pied du Port for a night. Barring any unforeseen issues, I plan on starting the Camino on Sunday, May 6th!! I will NOT be bringing my pc with me and I’m not sure that I’ll have (or want) access to a pc while I’m walking. Spending time in fellowship with other pilgrims is important – to me, more important that finding Internet service! I hope you will all forgive me! Thank you as always though, for staying with me and keeping good thoughts going for me!!

Cheri 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryNell
    May 01, 2012 @ 13:10:33

    enjoy your Camino!

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      May 01, 2012 @ 23:51:54

      Thanks MaryNell. I’m really looking forward to it. It will definitely be a step-by-step (no pun intended, well, ya okay, maybe it was intended!!) journey for me with my foot feeling the way it does. Oh well!

      Reply

  2. Aunt Sandie
    May 01, 2012 @ 17:30:50

    Once again Cheri, a great blog. How amazingly good you have brought so many aspects of the different cultures to us. At times I could imagine being right there with you.

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      May 01, 2012 @ 23:50:45

      Awwwww, thanks Aunt Sandie!! It feels good to be back into the familiar! And listen, we ARE going to do Paris in the future….I say, on bikes!! 🙂 Give that some thought!

      Reply

  3. Becky
    May 01, 2012 @ 21:58:39

    Oh… my gosh. I could almost tear up thinking how close you are to the Camino. I could not possibly be any more proud of you or happy for you Cheri!!!!!! Yes, I am a bit bummed that you won’t have your pc while your walking…. But I would totally do the same thing, for sure, no doubt.

    Please journal, pen and paper and be sure to fill us in when you can.

    Cheri, I am totally praying for the best, healthiest, happiest pilgrimage ever!!!

    Big Hugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Becky

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      May 01, 2012 @ 23:49:29

      Well geez Becky, talk about “tearing up”!!! Your message is so sweet and beautiful! You are such a thoughtful, kind person Becky!! Thank you for all your prayers and well wishes!! I will FOR SURE be journaling!! I’ve already started because for me, I found that being back on this side of the world is truly magnificent and certainly, worth writing about!

      I’ll post whenever I can and big hugs right back at ya!!!

      Cheri 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

