Ferryboat Madness in Thailand!

One of the most fascinating things about this trip so far has been the various forms of transportation that I’ve had the pleasure (or dread) of experiencing. Recently I blogged about the infamous minivan experiences! Now, I’d like to share the ferry boat fun!!

I love the water, so when I knew I would have the chance to “island hop” using the ferries, I was delighted. No stuffy minivan for me! These trips would be out on the open Gulf of Thailand waters! Sun in my face, I would have nothing to dislike about this kind of adventure! And for the most part, they were okay. But let me tell  you a little more about how the adventure with ferry boat travel REALLY goes!

First, do not expect a state of the art boat from any recent decade! This is after all, Thailand – the land that makes use of every old thing left in the world! While most times I admire their ingenuity, there are times when I wish they would operate in this decade! So okay…no worries because boats are pretty sturdy and the old workhouses deserve their credit!

Next, do not under any circumstances expect the boat to be on time. Of course, we learned that from the minivan adventure right? Trust me, the boats will be even more tardy!

Expect to pay for air-conditioning! I was okay with this because I figure if you want to be on the islands, it’s because you like water and the sun. I paid extra for all the rooms I was in on the islands because I wanted air-conditioning! The difference is that on these boats, you are basically in the sun for several hours. If you want out of the sun, you will be in the air-conditioned “lounge”. Let me explain “lounge” to you as best I can. It’s basically the bottom floor of the boat with bench seats, air blowing through extremely dirty ducts with no filter on them (sometimes you get the boat diesel fuel smell too as a bonus), and a little stand where someone is selling chips, soda, and of course, Chang beer! That would be the “lounge” area! And, to be in this lovely area, you must pay money! Otherwise, sit your butt out in the sun for several hours looking at the Gulf!

Biggest backpacks are always on top!

Give up your fears about your backpack getting dirty! Whatever you’ve seen at an airport when it comes to luggage handling will look like child’s play compared to the handling on these boats! I will say though, the boat hands do try to stack them neatly. However, you can expect that no matter what size your bag is, the biggest bags will always be on top. The reason for this is that the folks with the biggest bags are the slowest getting on the boat!!

Don’t expect the ship’s crew to wait on you in any way whatsoever! They have luggage to stack up and then, it’s basically time to either smoke hand rolled cigarettes (one right after the other) or take a nap in the shade. Trust me, these two things were done repeatedly and shamelessly on every boat trip I took!

Crew hard at work...sleeping in the shade!

Last, just enjoy the journey! For me, one of the great things about this journey has been that no matter what difficulties I’ve encountered (like boat ramps that are ridiculously narrow and look like they will fall apart…just sayin’), I know that these are making for moments I’ll never forget! They are challenges that I’m finding I can overcome. Sometimes it’s just a matter of not being afraid – other times it’s recognizing that I need help and not being afraid to ask for it! Either way, I’m having the time of my life!!

As always....loving the adventure no matter what!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dmotto
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 09:46:34

    Thanks for sharing your experiences. My son just arrived in Bangkok a couple of days ago (since we are 12 hours difference from US to Thailand, I can never keep it straight!) and I’m sure he will have the time of his life also! He’s staying at an orphanage about 4 hours drive from Bangkok.

    Reply

  2. dmotto
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 11:05:38

    Cheri…would love to be a Facebook “friend”! If you are interested…let me know which Cheri Arnold you are; ie: where you live or email or however that’s done! 🙂 Hoping to hear from you! – Debbie

    Reply

  3. dmotto
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 11:08:08

    Reblogged this on adopteddaughteroftheking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

