To my heroes – my niece Morgan…and my friend Joe!

My beautiful niece Morgan!

This blog is dedicated to my niece, Morgan and my good friend, Joe Hamilton in Colorado Springs. I hope they will forgive me for posting my thoughts!

A few years ago, my beautiful niece Morgan was involved in a serious car accident. She suffered numerous injuries including head trauma. The healing and recuperation was a long, long process for Morgan and she will tell you today, there are still lingering effects from the injuries. For all the pain and suffering she went through, my sister Carla and her husband Billy, along with nephew Ricky and niece Missy, endured pain also. They watched as she lay in a hospital bed with her head swollen. Every step she had to relearn, they took with her. She struggled  with ordinary functions of life such as eating and getting dressed. There were years of therapy and she still struggles today with some cognitive skills.

But what I see, is a loving young lady who always has a smile. I see a niece who flew out to Colorado and worked her butt off helping me pack and move to Tennessee! I see a niece who partied like crazy with me in Las Vegas – we had the best time ever! And, I saw a beautiful person who said please and thank you to everyone on our trip. I watched her in McDonald’s, speak to a young girl who obviously had some type of mental problem. The empathy Morgan showed her was so touching!

What I see when I look at Morgan…is a hero!

And now my friend Joe. On February 29, 2012, his daughter Ashley was in a serious car accident. Ashley is still in the hospital, of course, and undergoing treatment and therapy for all her injuries including serious head trauma. Even though I am miles away in Thailand, I can feel the pain that Joe is suffering as he writes his thoughts and advises all of us on Ashley’s progress. And yet, I see something very different in Joe.

I see the lunches we shared together with friends from work! We would laugh and laugh at the silliest things! I remember the night he stopped by the Dublin House and we shared drinks with friends and just had a blast. I see a man who was dedicated to the company and more importantly, to the customers. And I remember him talking about his daughters and seeing the gleam in his eye and sometimes, even a tear! I see a man strong enough to show his emotions for those he cares about. For all the sadness that is happening in his life right now, I know he will be okay. He will be strong for his daughter – he will be strong for those around him! He will continue to keep us informed by posting routinely – he will take care of our needs even when he’s tired and discouraged. And he will be by his daughter’s side every step of the way!

What is see when I look at Joe….is a hero!

To my two heroes, don’t ever underestimate your ability to touch other lives. You do it daily – at least I know you touch mine! Thank  you for being so strong!! I admire you both!

Love,

Cheri

Leave a Reply

