Some thoughts about friends…..

I started this journey long before I got on the plane heading to Singapore. It started years ago when my Aunt Sandie and I were talking about her trip to Europe. She went with a tour group and although it was a long, hard trip with many stops, lots of bus rides, and many days, she had fond memories of Europe and the journey. She started talking to me about the idea of us going to Europe one day together. Years later, we made it happen. That trip taught me that I can find a way to do the things I want! And it taught me that there will always be people in my life that are happy to see me do the things that mean the most to me….my friends and of course, my aunt! ๐Ÿ™‚

From the moment I started researching this trip, I knew that there were people at work who would support me. What I didn’t know, was that there were friends out there who were silently supporting me even though they may not have known when or where I was actually going. But I always felt like I had a group of people around me who wanted the very best for me regardless of the impact it might have on them.

My strongest support as always come from my aunt. I think that’s because she loves to travel and knows how to travel the way I do….light and with as little holding me back as possible! I recognize not everyone can travel, but everyone can be supportive. In this past month and half, I’ve been amazed at how strong and wonderful my support network truly is! People that I literally have never met or haven’t seen in years, are out on Facebook every day watching my travels, commenting on my posts, and always wishing me well and thanking me for posting about my journey.

Folks, and you know who you are, you have no idea of what your comments mean to me! They are affirmations of friendships that don’t need to be coddled with birthday greetings or trips to the mall or even phone calls. They are daily reminders that we all touch each other’s lives in very small ways that have a huge impact in the end. Currently, I have a friend back in Colorado whose daughter was in a terrible car accident. My daily notes on his posts remind him that although we are miles apart, I am with him! Just as he is so appreciative of my few words a day that I send him, I too am appreciative of the comments all of you post!

There are many great things about travelling.ย  At times though, it does get lonely and that’s a part of the journey too. But reading your comments and thoughts and well-wishes that all of youย post, brightens my day – EVERY DAY!! I look forward to reading your posts and emails!! They are not simply ego-boosters – they are true words of friendship that help me feel like you are on the journey with me!!

To all of you who take the time to post your comments…thank you! Please know that they are ALWAYS the first thing I look for when I sign on and that they ALWAYS bring a smile to my face!! Thank YOU!!

Family isn’t always blood. It’s the people in your life who want you to be in theirs, the ones who accept you for who you are. The ones who would do anything to see you smile and who love you no matter what.”

YOU ARE ALL FAMILY TO ME!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nate
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 04:58:32

    Very thoughtful post Cheri. I enjoy reading your blog for many reasons, but the one that I get the most joy out of is knowing that you are going at it by yourself. It takes quite a lot of energy to such a thing. Sometime whenever there is no one else that speaks the same language it can get a bit frustrating talking to yourself all the time.

    I’ve only traveled by myself once. I really enjoyed it and hope to do it again someday after the little one grows up and out of the house. Stay safe, do crazy things and buy the locals drinks wherever you go.

    Cheers-

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Mar 12, 2012 @ 07:23:49

      That’s so much Nate! It does take a lot of energy…sometimes more than I think I have at my age! And yet, things are moving along and I’m loving it. But part of what keeps me going is knowing that people are geniunely interested in my adventure! I REALLY do appreciate all the comments! Thank you for taking the time to do that and….your turn will come…enjoy the “growing up” years!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

      • Nate
        Mar 12, 2012 @ 07:29:01

        You are more than welcome to add Ya’an, China to your itinerary. Meghan can give you a tour of the Panda facility and you can watch me dodge traffic with my baby hauling girls bike.

        Safe travels-

      • cheriarnold
        Mar 12, 2012 @ 07:37:39

        Wow…I would sooooo love to do that! I wish I had known before…but that won’t necessary stop me!! I have a girlfriend from the stats who is travelling to China in June. I will be walking the Camino de Santiago during that time! But I will definitely keep in touch for a future travel plan!! ๐Ÿ™‚ It would be fun to see the Panda facility, meet you and your family, and of course, watching you dodge traffic would certainly be entertaining!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Travel Spirit
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 07:11:11

    I know what you mean Cheri…I think everyone is connected…we just don’t know to what extent. I’m glad you’re having a good time!!

    Reply

  3. Aunt Sandie
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 17:19:12

    Cheri I think your destiny for many years has been to travel. I remember when you were still in High School and you wanted to be an airline stewardess so you could see the world. I’m glad that I was there for you for encouragement. Yet, if I hadn’t I’m sure you would have followed your dreams anyway. Good for you. And when the going gets rough just keep putting one step forward and then the other and all always turns out good. We really did have a great trip.

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 01:50:33

      We had an AWESOME trip. I keep trying to think of something I can do with my life at this age that includes travel, but truthfully, no matter what I do, I will always make time for travelling now. I think that’s the difference with age – recognizing it’s a priority over other things!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  4. dmotto
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 10:40:08

    If I could hit the “Like” button a dozen times to let you know how MUCH I like this post, I would!!! I pray you are enjoying life as much today as you did when you were making these posts. You are a neat lady. (“neat”…from my wanna-be hippy days!!! LOL!) – Debbie

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Apr 01, 2012 @ 05:22:18

      Actually Debbie, I’m still traveling in Thailand! And yes, my friends are still supporting me with their comments on FB and in emails. This was a six-month journey that I just felt I needed to make. So, I sold my stuff and decided to use some of my retirement money to just travel and learn who I am after my divorce…what really matters to me in life….and what my purpose is in this world. At the end of April, I leave Thailand heading to Paris and then down to St. Jean Pied de Port to walk the Camino de Santiago across Spain. It’s also known as the Way of St. James. It will be a quiet, meditative walk for me! I’m really looking forward to it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

