Live ’til ya die!!

The infamous SE Asia sidewalk...a death trap!!

This morning when I was writing in my journal, I realized I still have a couple of quotes by Paulo Coehlo. When I read this one, in light of my flesh-eating fish experience, it really hit home! It’s really ok that I had this adventure – it reconfirms that I’m alive and living life to the fullest!

“Still being fragile creatures, humans always try to hide from themselves the certainty that they will die. They do not see that it is death itself that motivates them to do the best things in their lives. They are afraid to step into the dark, afraid of the unknown, and their only way of conquering that fear is to ignore the fact that their days are numbered. They do not see that with an awareness of death, they would be able to be even more daring, to go much further in their daily conquests, because they have nothing to lose – for death is inevitable.”

Wow! Isn’t that just the truth? Since death is inevitable anyways, why aren’t we living our lives to the fullest? At some point, we crossover from being children who are carefree and indestructable to adults who are fearful of so many things. The more knowledge we gain about the dangers in the world, the more we stop living.

Unfortunately, I am guilty of this too! Because of my fears of not being able to take care of myself as I grow older, stress about not having a job, worry about where I’m going to live, etc., I’ve spent much of my life “safe”. I’m thankful though, that at some point, I realized that I will manage just fine no matter what! I finally woke up to the realization that no matter what – the clock keeps ticking and the world keeps spinning.

Life on the road reminds me that every day is a gift. Getting this wound reminds me that I could have chosen to not do any tours because “something might happen”! But the truth is, I would never have had this exciting adventure any other way! Sure, it’s kind of a strange one to have – but when I think of the stories I can tell (it’s now turned into a shark bite), the people I’ve met, the graciousness of the Thai tour company in helping me through this – I know for sure that I’m living this adventure to the fullest!

Truthfully, there are many dangers lurking out there for travellers. From crossing busy streets with traffic working the opposite of what you’re used to, to getting on airplanes, to crazy bus rides in the cities and countryside, to eating strange food cooked by most likely unwashed hands, to walking on SE Asia sidewalks that are always a REAL danger – the list just goes on and on! We are constantly at the mercy of others when we travel!  But sitting at home fearing these things, is not for me! Every day I wake up knowing yesterday was only the second best day of my life because today will be even better regardless of flesh-eating fish, weird sidewalks, or scary food! Today will be the best day ever because I’m cheating death – living each moment to the fullest!! I hope you will do the same!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nate
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 03:31:57

    It sounds like you are having a great time. Yes, sidewalks here often double as roadways as well. I guard my little one like a diamond down main street. Keep up the great posts.

    Reply

  2. cheriarnold
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 04:52:54

    I am Nate…just loving it!! Keep guarding the little one….there seem to be so many dangerous sidewalks here…and yet, nothing would keep me from seeing this….EVER! Thanks for the compliment!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kelli West
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 06:26:24

    Loved reading this!

    Reply

  4. Deborah Cooper-Asberry
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 13:17:30

    I’m really enjoying following all of your adventures and can hardly wait til it’s my turn to step out into the vast unknown and experience life to the fullest through my travels! Thanks so much for having the foresight to share your experiences with us through this blog!

    Reply

  5. cheriarnold
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 18:59:43

    Deborah…..wow! Thanks so much for the nice compliment! When do you travel? I hope it’s soon! There’s so much to see out in the world – you will love it – regardless of the pitfalls along the way! 🙂

    Reply

  6. dmotto
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 10:20:06

    Bravo, Cheri! And thanks for sharing your great outlook on life! – Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

