Why I can’t lose weight in Thailand…..

It’s simple. The food is too damn good and there are way too many choices!!

When I was in Malaysia, the kids at the hostels would rant and rave about how good the food was in Thailand. But when I asked them if the food was spicy, they always said yes. Now, I don’t know what food these people were ordering, but I’ve had nothing spicy at all yet! I will admit though, several times I’ve been asked if I want “spicy” or not!

Let’s start with breakfast. Although I’m having a hard time finding these for breakfast, we’ll count them as breakfast food – banana pancakes. These are not your Aunt Jamima’s pancakes folks!! These start as small round balls of dough. They flatten the dough and then make it thinner and thinner which makes the size of the “shell” get larger and larger. The “chef” throws a hunk of butter on the griddle and then the thin dough. Most of the time the dough is so thin it has holes in it. A banana is quickly sliced up and tossed in the middle, usually with another slab of butter! (Already you can see this is my kind of treat!!) Then the banana inside is covered up by folding over each side of the dough and the top and bottom of the dough. The whole square is turned over and fried also! Once it’s done, the “pancake” is removed to a piece of paper, cut up in 9Β or 12 pieces, and then sprinkled with sweetened condensed milk and a little sugar. Now really folks, we’re talking dough, bananas, butter, sweetened milk and sugar. I’m not seeing a downside to this treat!! The only thing I have found is that bananas give me heartburn so I have limited my intake of these especially since I only seem to be able to find these in the evening at the night market!

Dinner – pad thai…..basically fried noodles with vegetables and chicken and sometimes shrimp and of course, soy sauce! Folks, these people love oil and butter and that puts me on a first name basis with them! Honestly, I could eat this stuff every night of the week – oh wait – I pretty much have!! Really, I do vary my dinner because they also have chicken and pork satay which is basically just meat grilled on a stick. It’s fabulous! I also sometimes have fried rice with vegetables and meat. I’ve also had omelets with meats and rice…they are delicious too.

And fresh juice..I’m telling you, they use whatever fruit you want and put it in the juicer right in front of you. Pineapple, strawberry, watermelon, kiwi, orange….you name it…they juice it!!

The most amazing thing of all is the cost of this food. Tonight I had pad thai in a sit down restaurant and it was 45 Baht which is slightly more than $1 USD. Add in my Coke for 20 Baht which is less than $1 and there’s a meal!

So here’s the deal…I had this feeling when I was in Malaysia and not liking the food so much because most of it had a curry-like taste to it, that I was going to come to Thailand and eat less because I wouldn’t care for the food. WRONGO!!! I love the food here and it’s taking everything in me not to eat too much!!

So….why can’t I lose weight in Thailand? It’s simple – the food is so damn good and there are wayΒ too many choices!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. xoxomheg
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 11:45:12

    me too! i love Thai food! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Mar 03, 2012 @ 18:14:49

      If someone had told me 5 years ago that I would be in Thailand and loving the food…I would have denied it!! But here I am and loving every minute! Thanks for the comment!! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Aunt Sandie
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 16:40:39

    That sounds pretty yummt to me. You go for it.

    Reply

  3. Aunt Sandie
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 16:42:53

    That was supposed to be yummy, missed the “y” key . . .woops

    Reply

  4. Deborah Cooper-Asberry
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 17:18:38

    I’ve always wanted to make it to that corner of the world! Now that you’ve done the legwork of taste testing in the different countries there, I’ll know where to save up my calories for if I ever get over there! Thanks Cheri!

    Reply

  5. dmotto
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 10:14:17

    Hi again Cheri! I’m reading all of your blogging that’s available to me! You are a hysterically humorous writer! I love your style and your sense of humor! Eating is the one pleasure I have trouble curbing no matter where I go! Wish I were there with you! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Apr 01, 2012 @ 05:27:05

      Well Debbie…I just got to Bangkok and truly, I was dreading coming to this city! I guess I just heard such bad things, that I had a preconcieved notion about it. The truth though, is that I love it!! Who can’t fall in love with a city that has such huge malls and of course, Haagan Daz Ice Cream…I’m mean, seriously???? πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Debbie Motto
        Apr 04, 2012 @ 20:06:45

        LOL! You’re my kind of woman! πŸ™‚ The Bamboo School is in Bong Ti Kancanchuri province or something like that…about 4 hrs West (towards Myanmar) of Bangkok. Stop in and say “Hi!” to Chad Weissert there! That’s the name of the orphanage he’s at! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

