More from The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho…..

“We must never stop dreaming. Dreams provide nourishment for the soul, just as a meal does for the body. Many times in our lives we see our dreams shattered and our desires frustrated, but we have to continue dreaming. If we don’t, our soul dies, and agape (spiritual love or selfless love of one person for another) cannot reach it.”

I know I’m a dreamer! I always have been and always will be! Over the years, I’ve felt uncomfortable thinking that my dreams were somehow related to an unhappiness with my life. But the truth is, dreams are just really goals wrapped up in a different package! Dreams, for many, probably seem unattainable while achieving goals is simply the end result of hard work. But that’s not true! Dreams do come true….and many times, by doing the same things you would do to achieve a goal! The added element is simply a leap of faith!

There are people in my life who seem to have given up on their dreams. I’m sad for them because without dreams, what motivates us? They seem unhappy and lost. While some may believe that dreaming puts our head in the clouds, I think dreams put our feet firmly on the ground. They give us something to hope and work for, something to believe in, and a sense of accomplishment when we achieve one. That is how I’m feeling now! Some say that I made a foolish move by quitting my job during a bad economy. Some say that I’m unhappy with my life in the US so I’m always searching for something different. Regardless of what others say, I only need to be true to myself.

In saying that, here is my truth: The reality of this journey has surpassed every dream I ever had about it! Giving up my apartment, selling most of my things, leaving my job, family and friends – all of it was worth what I’m experiencing now. I feel wonderful about my decision and I’m proud that I took that leap of faith.

A leap of faith!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryNell
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 08:12:35

    Thanks for being an inspiration!

    Reply

  2. Nate
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 08:13:08

    I’m happy that you are able to do such a profound journey. Keep up the posts so we know how you do out there.

    Reply

  3. Sandie
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 19:15:15

    your blogs are so inspiring. I do want to meet you in Sarria. Keep on enjoying everyday.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 15:38:12

    Cheri… I love this post! Dreams really are goals wrapped up in a different package!!!! What a great reminder to all!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

