Letter to Aunt Sandie!

Dear Aunt Sandie,

Please seriously consider walking the last leg of the Camino de Santiago with me in May/June!

Love,

Cheri

Now, I know some of you are probably wondering why I would write a letter to my aunt as part of my blog. Well, it’s pretty simple – it’s blackmail. Yup, down and dirty public exposure! It’s kind of like that book, “The Secret”, that says if you tell the Universe your needs, it must provide! I’m thinking that if I ask for this through these public forums we call Facebook and the blogging process, it’s as good as asking the whole Universe!

And why the short letter? Another easy answer. Aunt Sandie and I talked about the Camino so often during my visit to Florida, that there’s no need for explanation or further discussion. She knows what it is, why it’s done, and what it would mean to me if she showed up!

Okay, so before any of you get upset about not getting a request or invitation, let me assure you I’m a “the more the merrier” kinda gal. But this is not any old vacation or get-away. This is a whole different ballgame in the world of travel! This is a journey that requires the ability to sleep in a refugio with many other people. It is hours upon hours of walking. The Camino is about sharing your thoughts with another and yet, at times, sharing no conversation at all. This trip demands that you understand there is a purpose for walking the Camino and still,  you may not even be aware of it’s purpose until it’s done and over. When I think of all the people I’ve travelled with over the years, I know that Aunt Sandie is the one person who could share this journey with me.

How do I know she can do it? Once again a very simple answer! Because she wants to! She knows it and I know it! For all the physical, mental, emotional, and financial struggle this would be, she is the one person who could tackle them all…and win!

And so, my letter to her is now public. I expect my friends to chime in and encourage her! She doesn’t have FB, so just send your comments to me! I’ll be sure she gets them! It’s like I said, once you put something out to the Universe it must happen!

Love you Aunt Sandie….see ya in Spain! 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryNell
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 10:10:35

    Go Auntie Sandie! Do it!!!

    Reply

  2. Travel Spirit
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 14:03:43

    Auntie Sanie…do it…do it!

    Reply

  3. Travel Spirit
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 14:04:03

    Oops…I meant “Sandie”!

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 18:39:38

    Dear Aunt Sadie,
    You really really need to walk the last leg of the Camino de Santiago with Cheri. Cheri needs you. You see, by the last leg, Cheri will either have so much inspiration and purpose to pass along …. or she might really just need a piggy back ride! Either way it’s a win win!!!! I think you should go for sure!!!!

    Becky

    Reply

Leave a Reply

