Oh, the glamorous life of solo travel…..

Right now, I’m on top of the world. One wouldn’t think that when you take a look at where I’m sleeping! But it’s true! Here in my little room, I have everything I need to enjoy travel and see the world. No there’s no beautiful bedspread, textured wallpaper, or big cushy pillows.

My bed!!

My shelf and desk!

I also have a little shelf and stool. The stool makes a wonderful desk for my laptop! Truly, it’s all I need!

My little stool is also a desk!

On top of all these luxuries, I have the comfort of knowing that I’m safe as a bug in a rug! There is a huge locking mechanism on my door! It’s quite the old-fashioned lock and yet, it works for me!

Big door lock that I control!!

Sometimes we think we need more. But in the end, it’s just as easy to have a glamorous life with only a few things. Even the kitchen adds the extra comfort of “home”.

Our little kitchen!

When I think about how my life was several years ago and what I’m doing today, I realize that with no uncertainty that more is not better. Being thousands of miles from home and literally on the other side of the world, I’m truly thankful for the little things…a comfortable bed, a spot to put some things for a few days, and a sense of security.

In the end, what makes our lives glamorous isn’t the “things” we own – it’s the things that provide us our true needs! Solo travel is really glamorous…it’s just all in how you do the measuring!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KK
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 15:40:06

    Hey Cheri, Just read your Solo Travel blog. And I say Amen πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. cheriarnold
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 18:54:14

    Thanks Kathleen! When travelling, less is more for sure!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. CrystalBrant
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 01:55:21

    Aww so glad u got to do this!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

