Ending…my stay in Singapore!

My last two days in Singapore have been fabulous beyond belief! Here are some reasons why:

1.) I got a massage!

2.) I watched the coolest Indian parade today…it went on for hours.

3.) Last night I went up on the Singapore Flyer and had the most beautiful views of this city EVER!

4.) Chinatown was AWESOME!

5.) Little India was AWESOME!

6.) I started the day yesterday by leaving my moneybelt in my hostel room….and returned to find it still where I left it, untouched!

So, here’s a little info about all the above wonderful things. For the last few days, I’ve had a horrible pain in my right side just below the bra line. I think it’s my obliques? Not sure if that’s right or not, but every time I start walking, within minutes I’m in pain. Today as I was walking through Chinatown sweaty and in a lot of pain, I saw a sign for a $25 massage for 30 minutes. I’ve never had a massage from anyone other than my sister (who gives great massages by the way), so I was a little nervous. IT WAS AWESOME!! I got cooled down, she worked a lot on the area I told her was giving me pain, and I walked out feeling like it should have cost me a million bucks for that deal! I’. m looking forward now to a Thai massage! 🙂

My hostel is actually located in Little India. At first I was kind of concerned because it seemed kind of shady or something in this area. But over the past few days, I’ve come to find it quite interesting and not the least bit scary. Today as I was walking to the MRT station, I was forced to stop and wait near the Indian temple because there was a parade. Little did I know that the parade would go on ALL day and well into this evening. I asked a police officer what was going on and he said it’s a holy day for the Indians. I was finally able to get through the parade line, but everytime I came back to the hostel I had to wait for a clearning to get through! And the women who were in the parade or came to watch, were dressed in the most beauitful saris. It was so exciting to see this culture. The smell of incense was in the air all day. Talk about an experience – this was mind-blowing. The guys are carrying these heavy headress like things and by the way, they are attached to their bodies with something that looks like fish hooks. The guy with the green things on him…those are all attached with those hooks!

Image

The Singapore Flyer was the best $29.50 I ever spent! It’s a huge wheel that resembles a ferris wheel except that the seats are totally enclosed, hold up to ten passengers at one time, and are completely glass except for the floor! The views of Singapore are outstanding. I decided to go up as it was getting dark and it was awesome. I finally got to see the Singapore skyline like it is in all the pictures I’ve seen. Please check out my Facebook page as I’ll be posting the photos there. This was truly a highlight for me….such a rush!! Not to mention it’s HUGE and you’re up very, very high! But well worth it even if it was a little scary! It’s weird to be up walking around in that “cage” so high in the air – but totally one of the must-do things here!

Years ago I went to Chinatown in San Francisco. Maybe because I was young (like 20 years old???) and hadn’t travelled much, I was kind of frightened by it. It seemed dirty and weird and smelly. Chinatown here is quite magical. T :)he area is fairly clean and is a thriving metropolis all unto itself. I thoroughly enjoyed walking through the area and LOVED getting a massage there. Again, another recommendation if you come to Singapore!

Little India is quite fabulous. It seemed dirty to me at first as I said previously, but really, it just is what it is. The people are quite nice and there is this huge department store here called Mustafa Center. You can buy just about anything at this store. Quite honestly, I have never see so much LUGGAGE in my life in one store – every brand you’ve ever heard of (or not)!! All kinds of cameras from the most modern to some real antiquated models. It’s so fascinating. I quite like this area, but no, I’m not going to India!!!!

Yesterday I was pysched and ready to hit the town. In my haste to get going, I put my moneybelt under my pillow while I was showering (the other two girls who are quite nice had already started their day). When I came out, I guess I just totalled forgot about it until I was across town. I high-tailed it back and there it was….untouched. I was so thankful for that and it taught me to be a little more careful!

I’m having the time of my life here in Singapore and can’t wait to see my next big city – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. My journey starts tomorrow!!!

Again, it’s not always easy for me to upload photos here on WordPress but I’m posting them to Facebook whenever I can. I do hope you’ll go enjoy them there. In the meantime, I’ll try and figure out what the problem is on here. Sometimes they load but they seem to take forever!

Good night Singapore!! You’ve treated me well! Thanks!

Aside

Leave a Reply

