Beginning……to book, book, book!!

Wow….today was absolutely my best day ever for getting on track with this upcoming adventure! I’ve been sitting here working on one leg of the journey after another.

So here’s where I’m at with things:

1.) I already had my Singapore hostel reserved for 5 nights. Trust me, I will need that time to recoup from the flights, the disorientation due to time changes, and just general “where the hell am I?” feelings!

2.) Today I booked my train seat from Johor Bahru (Malaysia) to Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia). To get from Singapore to Johor Bahru, I will book a ticket when I’m in Singapore as this is just a quick ride over the causeway! It’s cheaper to book just this leg offline because only this section will be paid for in Singapore dollars. πŸ™‚ This way, the Malaysia portion is purchased in cheaper RM (Malaysian Ringgit). Yeah for me for finding out how to do this on seat61.com.

3.) I also booked my hostel reservation in Kuala Lumpur. I opted to go a bit pricier (average of $12 a night) and pick what looked like a “fun” hostel. The word “fun” here equates to…..it has a bar! Need I say more? It’s always good to sample the adult beverages close to “home”! I booked here for five nights.

4.) I researched the option of visiting a few islands from Kuala Lumpur but I’ve decided to wait on further booking until I get there! I don’t want to be so tied into a schedule that I can’t just enjoy myself and spend more time in an area I really like!

5.) I registered with the U.S. State Department to ensure someone can find me if need be!

6.) I researched my multiple entry options for Thailand since I feel fairly certain I will spend more than 30 days there. Although, who knows

It’s so hard for me to believe that in less than two weeks, I will actually be sitting IN SINGAPORE! Somehow I knew I would do this, but it’s all feeling very surreal right now! I really can’t think of a better, more descriptive word than surreal……me, on the other side of the world, literally! I’ll be updating more often now! Woo-hoo!!! πŸ™‚

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Travel Spirit
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 14:15:15

    I’m so excited for you and envious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

