Ending….to the waiting…I’m BOOKED!!!

Wow! December 13th and I am finally booked on my round the world trip!

So here’s the deal – I opted to keep the flying to a minimum. I’m heading out February 1st for Singapore. I have stops along the way of course, in San Francisco and Hong Kong! On February 3rd, I’ll be in Singapore. After that, I can decided when I want to move on to Malaysia and Thailand.

Now, about Thailand. Many of you know I have this ridiculous fear of snakes. I’m going to try and be a big girl and just relax and not expect snakes to come out of nowhere in Thailand just to scare me! But I will be cautious I’m sure. I haven’t figured out why I think they will be EVERYWHERE! But, the ticket is booked. I’m sure if I get too freaked out in Thailand, I’ll turn around and head back south or maybe further north to China! No matter what, it’s a done deal now!

After SE Asia, I’ll be heading to Europe for a few months. I’d like to see some of eastern Europe. I’m flying into Paris, but I’ll be doing lots of overland travel on the trains. Eventually, I’ll be heading to southern France to start my Camino de Santiago walk! I have a friend in Europe who will be holding my things for me for this journey!

After Europe, I’m heading back. I really have no STRONG desire to see Australia and South America right now. But, I am considering these parts of the world for my next trip. Oh God, already I’m thinking beyond this one. I’m obsessed.

So, I’m done waiting to purchase the ticket, done hesitating because of my fears about snakes, do I have enough money, where should I go; done thinking maybe I should just kill the travel bug altogether and settle in to another cubicle job. I’m done wondering when I should go, what’s the best time in regards to weather. I’m done worrying about travelling solo. Oh the list could go on and on! The truth is…..I’m ready!!!! 🙂

Oh and for those of you who think world travel is expensive, my ticket was less than $3000! 🙂 Thanks to Justin at airtreks.com for all his hard work in putting this together!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Travel Spirit
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 14:59:21

    I’d love to talk with you on the phone…I can give you my number at your e-mail, which I believe I have. Let me know if that’s O.K.

    Sherry

    Reply

  2. ben - adventureswithben
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 19:37:48

    I never saw any snakes in Thailand. 😉

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Dec 27, 2011 @ 19:40:50

      YEA!!!!! I know they have them at the big market there. I’m hoping I can find someone to scope it out with me so that I can stay FAR AWAY from that area of the market! 🙂 No matter what, I simply can’t let this ridiculous phobia rule my travel life! Thanks for the encouragement!! 🙂 I just really can’t wait any longer in my life….so at 54, I’m off and spending my retirement! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Christy Estabrook
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 22:02:05

    Wow, Cheri, this is such great news! I know you are psyched! Maybe you will stay in one of these places and teach some English??? Wish I was coming with ya.

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Dec 31, 2011 @ 23:19:06

      Thanks Christy!!! Not sure about the teaching…my purpose at this point is to just travel and see what I can! I think it’s about challenging myself. I just don’t feel at all confident about the teaching. Really, I wish I would have taken the class at the school! 😦 Thanks for following….I’ll be posting as I travel!! 🙂 And if you do get on the road…you simply MUST contact me so we can meet up. Actually, don’t you live in VA? Am I remembering correctly? I’m in TN now so maybe when I get back we could meet! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

