Ending my day….with a little reading that’s scaring me!

So here it is….the kind of stuff I read at the end of the day! This is actually just the tip of the iceberg – my NookColor is usually in use also!

For the last few years, I’ve been making a conscience effort to end my days by either reading or journaling or both. It calms me! It’s a time for me to let my mind be at peace. Especially with journaling, I find I am able to empty my head right onto the paper. Writing is especially important for me when I’m struggling with something or another. It’s like, well, once the words are on the paper, the pain or sorrow or fear are now out of my body! I feel like all the stress flows out of body through my hand as I’m writing.

When I read, I usually try to find things that are soothing. But lately, my reading material is focused on the Camino de Santiago of course. Those of you who know me could have figured that out! Once my mind is on something, it tends to go full steam ahead! So here’s the deal – I’ve read all my books about the facts concerning The Way of St. James. Now I’m reading a book by a women my age who did the Camino Frances which is the same route I will take. Her name is Jane Christmas and the book is “What the Psychic Told the Pilgrim – A Midlife Misadventure on Spain’s Camino de Santiago de Compostela”.

I’d like to be able to report to you that this book is encouraging me to do this walk. Quite the contrary! The book is funny, irreverent, exciting! It’s also, for lack of better words, scaring the crap out of me! Her descriptions about her first day tackling the Pyrenees has me re-evaluating this little adventure I have planned! As I read, I laugh out loud about the struggle she is having because she just makes it all sound so funny, and yet, I know this will not be nearly as funny when I’m actually doing it! She curses her way up the mountains and wonders what the hell she is doing, a middle-aged, out of shape woman in a foreign country on a walk that somehow, is supposed to bring her closer to herself or God or other people or whatever! Reading her words, I can see myself in this same situation! I have a feeling I will be repeating some of the same awful words I’ve read on the pages of her book!

It’s a good thing though, that once I start a book I read it to the end. She is past the mountains now and realizing what her journey is about and just like every book I’ve read about the Camino, there is a change happening inside her. Once again, I’m reassured after all that scariness, that I too, a middle-aged, out of shape woman can do this! Buen Camino!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mariarh
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 22:47:00

    Lovely blog Cheri…I am interested in reading the book by Jane Christmas.

    Where are you living now? I am very proud of you for getting this blog going!

    Reply

  2. Travel Spirit
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 17:08:55

    Hello-
    When are you planning on hiking this?

    Sherry

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Dec 11, 2011 @ 17:43:39

      Hi Sherry,

      I’m thinking about spring 2012 or fall 2012. I really wanted to do it in the spring, but I wanted to also see Thailand so I may spend time there first and then head over to do this in the fall! Are you planning to do this?

      Cheri 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

