Walking for exercise….kind of like a new beginning!

Warriors Path State Park

My new walking path!

First of all, I owe my subscribers an apology. I wrote an earlier post on this, but when I hit “publish”, for some reason only a part of the post went through. So, I’m typing this again and I’m sure it won’t be exactly the same!

Today I realized that I need to start walking again. Walking soothes my soul, but it is also a way for me to lose some of this weight. I would really like to walk at least a part of the Camino de Santiago in Spain on my next trip, but I simply can’t do it without losing some weight and getting fit. So, here is my walking spot! This is Duck Island in Warriors Path State Park in Blountville, TN which is where I live now. We drive through the park almost daily to get to my sister’s house, Walmart, the grocery store, and other places in Kingsport, TN. Driving the park is a delight although the speed limit is only 25 mph! But hey, there’s nothing wrong with slowing down to enjoy the scenery!

Stopping now and then on the walking path to take photos, I realized that this place is peaceful to me. It provides me the opportunity to reflect on what I need to do in order to feel better about myself. While I’m realizing that the inner me is changing, I know that for me to feel better I must also work on my outer self. It’s time for me to get fit – inside and out! It’s another beginning for me….recognizing what makes me a stronger, better person.

Reflections!

 
An interesting thought – in July, all of our family gathered in Tennessee for a reunion. My niece’s boyfriend also came out from Colorado and mentioned that although this area is beautiful, he felt it looked like a place where people come to die. I really agreed with him before I moved out here because I’ve always felt this area is full of slow movers. But now, I’m not feeling that way. For me, it isn’t a place to die, it’s a place to reflect. Maybe moving slow doesn’t have to be a negative thing. I’m accepting the fact slowing down is giving me the opportunity to actually see, smell, hear, feel things I’ve been moving to fast to notice. The leaves on the trees, the smell of fall, the sound of silence, and the recognition that my life truly is changing are all vividly clear to me now.
 
Beginnings and endings….a constant circle in my life!
 

Duck Island, Warriors Path State Park

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

