Beginnings again…off to Barcelona!

Atocha Train Station Garden in Madrid!

Well, my last night in Madrid was wonderful and yet, nostalgic.I had dinner with two of the Anglos from my adventure (Eleanor from the UK and Helen from Dubai)

Cleaning the Train!

and two new American friends from CA and MN who are starting their trip to Valdelavilla on Sunday. We enjoyed some tapas together at San Miguel Mercado, a little bit of shopping, and a drink before parting ways. And to think, we didn’t even get started until after 8:00pm! I’m telling you, Madrid is just hopping after 8:00pm! Anyway, the mood was relaxed and easy-going. Quite an enjoyable way to spend my last night in Madrid!

But today is a new day and I’m off to Barcelona! Before I left the hostel, the young man from Tangiers Morocco – his name is Ahmed – ran to the lobby to give me a coin from his country as a memento of our talks together. How sweet is that? I enjoyed learning a little about the culture of Morocco – he and his friend were a delight to spend time with talking about our cultural differences, but more importantly, about our common concerns as human beings! Needless to say, I was touched by his gesture of friendship!
The Atocha Train Station in Madrid is beautiful – clean and modern! And the high-speed trains are kept spotless. There are porters on every coach to greet you and assist you with your luggage. I love it! When I was writing this in my journal, the attendant was passing out headphones for the movie! This is tourist class – I can only imagine what was going on in first class. I opted for the tourist class ticket this time because it was more than twice as much and it’s only a 3 hour ride! One thing about the trains that I love are the built-in foot rests!
It’s hard for me to imagine that I will like Barcelona more than Madrid, but everyone I’ve met assures me that I will. So I rested for the rest of the journey looking forward to another beginning – in Barcelona.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KK
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 06:54:56

    Bravo Cherie!!! From your fan club here in O H I O 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

