Ending the day….touching my heart!

Another amazing day! I could spend my time writing about all the magical things I see and hear happening here. But for me, I really want to express what I’m feeling about a moment that touched me today.

Some of the Spaniards were giving presentations (in Englilsh of course) to help them feel more confident when they return to work and have to do them. However, they were given the topic by our Master of Ceremonies, Pete. Some of the subjects were things like “How I Would Spend the Perfect Day”, “My Favorite Book”, and “My Favorite Place in Spain”. All of the presenters showed great courage in standing up in front of us and speaking in our language, not theirs. However, I was especially touched by one particular speaker and his presentation. His name is Juan and the subject was “My Favorite Book”.

From the moment he began speaking, I was intrigued by his approach. As he spoke each sentence slowly, I was drawn into the words wondering where he was taking us with his presentation. The more I listened the more I realized why I was so pleasantly surprised – his passion is writing! Like all good writers, he captured the attention of the audience, surprised us with his words, and took us on a journey. He talked about how no book can ever be a favorite – that it is only at the moment of reading that one realizes THIS is the favorite book, only to find that in the next moment, there is now a new favorite! How can one ever say that the Bible is the best after they read Shakespeare? And yet, how can Shakespeare be the best once reads the work of Cervantes? No one set of words craftily woven together can ever be a favorite when the next collection comes along!

After the presentations, I met with Juan for our one on one. He actually works for the Ministry of Transportation. We could have spent our fifty minutes talking about Spain, his job, his family, whatever. But instead, we talked about our love of writing words – good or bad – as our way of expressing ourselves. It’s the way we release what’s truly in our hearts.

For me, no matter what Juan learned about English today, the lesson I learned today will not be something I will ever forget. There truly is a unspoken bound between people when they feel the same passion for something as another. I knew hearing the first few words of Juan’s presentation that his love for words was more than just reading a book. Once again, I am reassured that it truly is a small world, that people are the same all over, and that there are many, many more things that connect us than those that tear us apart.

Today my heart was touched….it makes for a delightful way to end the day. Good night all!

One on ones out on the lawn!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juanita de Paola
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 05:13:56

    Let your apartment to be big enough for me to come and visit one day πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Jenn Hamblen
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 05:18:57

    Beautiful post! Thank you.

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Sep 16, 2011 @ 17:44:08

      Jenn…thanks so much! I’m not the best writer in the world, but I do know when people touch my heart. I would include you in that group. I would love to come to Russia and meet you and your girlfriend. You both sound wonderful!

      Reply

  3. KK
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 07:30:42

    Well written, and really no pun intended! Keep enjoying!

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Sep 16, 2011 @ 17:46:07

      Kathleen….thanks so much! I’m so happy you are following and hope all is well with you. Can’t wait for us to meet up on the road sometime. The other thing……DO VAUGHANTOWN! This was THE most fantastic experience EVER….you would love this. It’s worth the trip to Spain. I will be returning…soon! πŸ™‚ Love ya….Cheri πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

