Emotional endings……

 

Good Friends!!!

My "Good Luck" Cake!!!

So okay…I’m at work and of course, should NOT be writing this blog. Too bad!! I need to record these emotions as I feel them so here goes.

Today is my second to last day of 17 years at Current, USA. I wrote my thoughts on this previously, but now it’s time to go beyond thoughts and really feel the effects of my decision to leave here. Wow! It’s going to be a tough day and I’m already crying as I write this.

I came in this morning to the call center decorated with signs in different languages and of different countries. The food tables are prepared for lots of delicious pot luck dishes. My first thought is that once again, these folks have given of themselves by doing the decorating and cooking and most importantly, by embracing my dream of travelling. What a group!

The cake…..it’s got the picture of Venice that I posted on my blog! Are these folks amazing? I’m so overwhelmed by the efforts they all put into this. Where on earth will I ever find such wonderful people? I can only hope to find this kind of love in my travels!

Right now, I’m worried about not staying in control of my emotions. Why? Everyone here knows me well enough to realize – it simply will not happen! Trust me, had I known this was happening today, I would have taken a few extra Prozac this morning! 🙂

One thing that keeps striking me as funny – they have Greece on one of the signs. They must have read my mind! Tuesday and Wednesday I went to the Greek restaurant for lunch. Eating Greek food has become a new passion of mine – I love it! Now I’m thinking I need to add Greece to my list of places to visit! See, these people really DO know me!

So I guess at 11:00am there will be some people from other areas coming to the department to wish me well. Anticipating that is nerve-wracking! I don’t like big gatherings, but I know this serves a purpose for both me and my friends.

It’s now 1:05pm……the commotion is over. I finally opened my cards from everyone. Again, I’m astounded by the emotion I feel inside – these are people who truly touch my heart again and again! The gift certificate for REI will certainly come in handy! I’m so excited that whatever I buy there will remind me of this special day and the wonderful years I had here with these friends. The journal and notecards will come in handy too!

Here’s the emotions I’ve felt today:

JOY in knowing that these last 17 years were not spent wasted! They are years filled with memories of great times with great friends.

SADNESS in knowing that the comfort I’ve felt here for so long is going to be gone; that I’m leaving friends who have always supported me!

ANTICIPATION in knowing that so much is ahead of me! There are so many more wonderful people out in the world that I just haven’t met yet!

SATISFACTION in knowing that in some small way, I’ve touched a few hearts on my journey through life. It’s what we’re here to do!

WOW!!! What an emotional ending!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tejae
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 05:24:18

    hey sweets. sorry i missed your party. i didn’t know about it until just now reading it on your very nice blog. 🙂 I’m happy for you and look forward to reading about your adventures. take care if i don’t see you today and update your blog often so I can keep in touch with you. 🙂
    HUGS!!

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 08:01:31

      Hey lady….thanks for your help with the blog! I’m still working on it! I have photos I still want to upload. Also want to start getting it out to others who are travelling so I can meet some on the road!

      You know, with the Internet, the world is a much smaller place!

      Love ya!

      Cheri 🙂

      Reply

  2. Paul Brown
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 08:59:55

    Cheri, You are the coolest! Great stuff here. Your new adventure will be awesome. I’ll be watching your posts so keep them up to date. Oh ya, this was a good move! Paul

    Reply

    • cheriarnold
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 11:59:56

      Thanks Paul….I’m so excited to be moving on!! I’m definitely going to keep the posts going. I hope others will see that they too can move on!

      Love ya bro!!

      Reply

  3. Becky V.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 08:48:35

    Lunch today????? 12.30ish OH NO!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

